Home > Tennis > Jankovic Disses Fed

Jankovic Disses Fed

Photo of Jelena Jankovic via Forty Deuce.

Photo of Jelena Jankovic via Forty Deuce.

Just before the start of the Australian Open, Roger Federer blasted the WTA by saying that Jelena Jankovic shouldn’t be number 1, because she hasn’t won a Grand Slam tournament. Well, Jankovic has fired back. 

Jankovic is playing in the Paris Open this week and in a press conferance, she had a few choice words for the former number 1. 

“To be honest, I do not like to talk about players, I really prefer to focus on myself. Why should he even care? I don’t like putting my nose in other’s business.”

“I mean, one thing I like about Nadal is that he is such a great champion, he is so humble, always has kind words for everybody, he is a role model for everybody.”

“Federer is a great champion, I don’t want to get in a fight with him but why does he care, I really don’t understand. Why does he need to do that?”

You go girl!

  1. Lisa
    February 12, 2009 at 1:32 am

    federer all the way. Jankovic sucks. and Candace, why r u rooting for Jankovic, Go fed

    • sportsaholic89
      February 12, 2009 at 7:29 am

      I’m not rooting for either of them, but I didn’t really like it when he initally dissed her. It was uncalled for. She was number one in the world, whether he liked it or not. It was just unnecessary for him to call her out like that.

      They’re both great players, but neither of them are my favorites. There is a lot of pressure on both of them this year, so we will see if either of them can step up to the challenge.

  2. Lisa
    February 13, 2009 at 2:14 am

    ok. btw, i love your blog. its sooo awesomee and i check it everyday for the variety of sports in it.

    • sportsaholic89
      February 13, 2009 at 2:26 am

      Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

