Home > Tennis > Federer Withdraws from Dubai and Davis Cup

Federer Withdraws from Dubai and Davis Cup

Roger Federer made the following announcement on his website today:

Dear Fans,

Today I am disappointed to announce that I am withdrawing from both Dubai and the Davis Cup tie in the United States. This was a hard decision to make as I am missing not only one of my favorite events on tour in Dubai but I am also missing out on an opportunity to help my country try and move on to the next round of Davis Cup. After injuring my back last fall, I did not have enough time to strengthen it completely. As a precautionary measure, I will use the next few weeks to make sure the back injury is fully rehabilitated and I am ready for the rest of the 2009 season.

As always, thanks for your continued support.
Roger

I wonder if it is his back that really needs to heal? After his defeat at the Australian Open, he may need more time to heal both mentally and emotionally. Nevertheless, I hope that this injury heals quickly, so that he can play at his highest level during the rest of the season. Otherwise, he may need to watch out because there is a certain Scotsman who is keen on taking his spot in the rankings.

Categories: Tennis Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

