Home > Figure Skating > Sasha Cohen to Compete in 3rd Olympics?

Sasha Cohen to Compete in 3rd Olympics?

Photo of Sasha Cohen by compose-r.net.

Photo of Sasha Cohen by compose-r.net.

 

Apparently, Sasha Cohen has been training during the 45 minutes that she has before her Stars on Ice shows and her fellow skaters have taken notice. Three-time U.S. Champion Michael Weiss has recently said that “She’s doing all the triple jumps and working on triple-triple combinations. Even if she does only triple-doubles, she is pretty much a lock to make the Olympic team because her spins and footwork would be all top levels, and her component (artistic) scores would be so strong.”

Cohen will decided in June whether she wants to make a comeback to competitive skating. “As long as I can keep my body healthy and especially the way I’ve been skating lately, it feels like the right thing to do,” she said. “Going to a third Olympics would be just incredible. I have the next 50 years of my life to have fun. Eventually I will have to move on, but I think I can do it again, and I need that purpose and challenge in my life right now.”

She also added that “I think I’m very close to where I was in 2006. Of course, I haven’t been running through long programs recently, but I feel very strong.”

Here is one of the high notes of her career: her short program from the 2006 Olympics.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

