Home > Tennis > Ivanovic and Pavlyuchenkova Advance to the Semis in Indian Wells

Ivanovic and Pavlyuchenkova Advance to the Semis in Indian Wells

Ana Ivanovic by tripletrouble.Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova upset the seventh seeded Agnieszka Radwanska 7-6(8),6-4 to reach the semifinals in Indian Wells. This was her second upset of the tournament, as she defeated Jelena Jankovic in the second round.

After the match, Pavlyuchenkova said that “It’s my first time in the semis, so I’m very happy. I’ve played Agnieszka five or six times already so I’m so happy I beat her. She’s a very tough player for me. The way she plays and all of our matches are tough. But today I just thought I don’t care about the result, I’ll just play my game.”

She will face Ana Ivanovic in the semis, who advanced when Sybille Bammer withdrew from their match due to a shoulder injury. This will be the first time that Pavlyuchenkova and Ivanovic will play each other.

Both semifinals, including the match between 4th seeded Vera Zvonareva and 8th seeded Victoria Azarenka, will take place on Friday.

Azarenka upset Dinara Safina in her previous match, so she will be looking to continue her good play against Zvonareva.

(Photo of Ana Ivanovic by tripletrouble)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

