Home > Tennis > ATP Miami: Federer, Djokovic, Roddick Cruise into the Third Round

ATP Miami: Federer, Djokovic, Roddick Cruise into the Third Round

US Open 2007 364 by Edwin Martinez1.Fifth seeded Andy Roddick, who has played very well this season, needed only 56 minutes to defeat Diego Junqueira 6-1,6-1. Roddick broke Junqueira five times in the crushing victory. He will next face Dmitry Tursunov.

After the match, Roddick said that he “felt like I hit the ball pretty clean tonight and didn’t really have him a chance to kind of get into grinder mode.”

Second seeded Roger Federer also had an easy match in the second round, as he defeated American qualifier Kevin Kim 6-3,6-2. Federer, suprisingly, has yet to win an ATP World Tour title this season. Perhaps, his first victory of the season could come at Miami? Federer will face Nicolas Kiefer in the third round.

“I was moving well,” said Federer after his victory. “I tried to get many balls back. I’ve never played him before…but I realized very quickly what his pattern was, especially on the serve. Even though he had a good serve today, he had a good few games, but I think I did well today. I think it was a good match. It was great start to the tournament.”

Third seeded Novak Djokovic, who has struggled during the season thus far, had a bit of a tougher time than Roddick and Federer, as he faced six break points, and yet, he still was able to defeat Frank Dancevic 6-3,6-2. He will play Paul-Henri Mathieu in the third round.

“I think most of my first round matches this year I haven’t had the right rhythm,” said Djokovic following his victory. “But today I was pretty happy with the way I started this tournament. Today I played the right game. Every single game I played I want to give my best, and I think the concentration was quite important today.”

Other Results:
[7] G Simon (FRA) def. L Hewitt (AUS) 61 62
[9] G Monfils (FRA) def. M Russell (USA) 62 67(5) 63
[10] J Tsonga (FRA) def. A Calleri (ARG) 61 61
[13] J Blake (USA) def. J Benneteau (FRA) 64 64
[15] T Robredo (ESP) def. J Hernych (CZE) 64 64
T Dent (USA) def. [19] N Almagro (ESP) 26 62 76(7)
[21] T Berdych (CZE) def. M Youzhy (RUS) 63 36 64
R Kendrick (USA) def [23] R Soderling (SWE) 64 62
[25] D Tursonov (RUS) def M Kushkin (KAZ) 36 76(4) 63
[28] N Kiefer (GER) def. F Santoro (FRA) 57 76(5) 62
[29] R Schuettler (GER) def. J Nieminen (FIN) 46 62 63
[22] M Safin (RUS) def. O Hernandez (ESP) 64 26 61
[31] P Mathieu (FRA) def. M Baghdatis (CYP) 63 26 62

[4] L Dlouhy (CZE)/L Paes (IND) def. F Gonzalez (CHI)/J Monaco (ARG) 62 62
I Karlovic (CRO)/D Vemic (SRB) def. J Acasuso (ARG)/L Arnold Ker (ARG) 46 76(6) 10-4
J Knowle (AUT)/J Melzer (AUT) def. I Kunitsyn (RUS)/D Tursonov (RUS) 64 62
M Lopez (ESP)/R Nadal (ESP) def. J Brunstrom (SWE)/J Rojer (AHO) 62 76(5)

(Photo of Novak Djokovic by Edwin Martinez1)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

