Home > Tennis > WTA Miami: Safina, Ivanovic, Jankovic, Zvonareva Out

WTA Miami: Safina, Ivanovic, Jankovic, Zvonareva Out

Aimia2World number 2 Dinara Safina was ousted by Australian Samantha Stosur in the third round 6-1, 6-4. After the match, Safina said that “it was just a bad match for me. It was just a disaster match.” She also blamed fatigue for her poor play.

Ivanovic lost to Agnes Szavay, also in the third round, 6-4, 4-6, 6-1. Both her and Safina’s matches were affected by rain. Regarding her loss, Ivanovic said that “I hardly did anything well today. I was trying to come in, and I was volleying pretty well at times, but I was really disappointed. I couldn’t really hold my serve.” Ivanovic has had noticable issues with her serve, particularly with her ball toss, since the beginning of the season.

Jankovic, who was stunned by Gisela Dulko in the second round, used very strong language following her loss. Not only did she say that her confidence was “shattered,” but she added that “I’m not the same player as I used to be. I haven’t been moving well and I changed all these things. I lost a couple of matches for which a player of my calibre it’s not really acceptable and so I lost a little bit of confidence.”

Zvonareva lost to Li Na 6-4, 3-6, 6-2.

Unlike the other top women, Venus and Serena Williams cruised through their third round matches. Venus defeated Anna-Lena Groenefeld 7-5, 6-3 and Serena was victorious against Peng Shuai 7-5, 6-2.

(Photo via Forty Deuce)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

