Home > Tennis > ATP/WTA Miami: Federer, Djokovic, Williams Sisters Advance

ATP/WTA Miami: Federer, Djokovic, Williams Sisters Advance

Photo of Novak Djokovic by John Togasaki.

Photo of Novak Djokovic by John Togasaki.

Who would have thought that Novak Djokovic, who has struggled this season, would have an easier time with his quarterfinal match than Roger Federer? Well, that was definitely the case on Wednesday, as Djokovic easily defeated 10th seeded Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 6-3,6-4. Djokovic looked like the old Djokovic who we all got to know over the last two years. For the most part, he played very well and he seemed to gain confidence as the match progressed.

“I have to be very happy with today’s performance, because I have been struggling to find a way to win against him in the last four encounters,” said Djokovic. “It was all so close, so I just knew that I need to stick in and try to wait for my chances and be aggressive. Today I think I tried to be closer to the line, more in control, and just put the pressure on him. Overall, I’m really satisfied.”

In the semifinals, the third seeded Djokovic will face Roger Federer, who is seeded second. Federer defeated Andy Roddick in his quarterfinal match, in what was a tough three-set thriller. Federer has owned Roddick in the past, so it was a bit suprising that this match was so close, but nevertheless, the Swiss superstar was able to win 6-3, 4-6, 6-4.

After the match, Federer seemed to feel good about his game, as he said that “When I get through those kind of tough matches, sometimes I go on to win the tournament and I don’t ever look back. I hope that’s what’s going to happen right now.”

On the womens side, Serena struggled, whereas Venus crushed her opponent to set up what will be a blockbuster semifinal between the two sisters. Venus defeated 26th seeded Iveta Benesova 6-1, 6-4 and Serena had a 4-6, 7-6(1), 6-2 victory over Na Li. Venus spoke about the upcoming match, saying that “I enjoy playing her, because we challenge each other the most. I think also you really have to know that – at least I walk out there knowing – that it’s not over till it’s over. I really have to beat her.”

Order of Play for Thursday, April 2:

STADIUM start 1:00 pm
[8] S Kuznetsova (RUS) vs [11] V Azarenka (BLR) – WTA  *Semifinal Match*

Not Before 3:00 PM
[1] R Nadal (ESP) vs [6] J Del Potro (ARG) – ATP  *Quarterfinal Match*

Not Before 7:00 PM
[4] A Murray (GBR) vs [8] F Verdasco (ESP) – ATP  *Quarterfinal Match*

Not Before 9:00 PM
[1] S Williams (USA) vs [5] V Williams (USA) – WTA  *Semifinal Match*

COURT 2 start 1:00 pm
[1] B Bryan (USA) / M Bryan (USA) vs A Fisher (AUS) / S Huss (AUS) – ATP
R Kops-Jones (USA) / A Spears (USA) vs [3] K Peschke (CZE) / L Raymond (USA) – WTA
M Mirnyi (BLR) / A Ram (ISR) vs J Knowle (AUT) / J Melzer (AUT) – ATP

  1. Jordan
    April 2, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    u seem very biased against roger federe. although djoko had an easier time, federer played a better player than djokovic did so u cant really compare. I happen to be a federer fan, but nevertheless, i appreciate ur opinion. ur blog is great!

    • sportsaholic89
      April 2, 2009 at 11:18 pm

      I wouldn’t say that I am biased against Federer. He is a very talented player and I have complete respect for him. It is true that Federer played a better player, but given the magnitude of how much Djokovic has struggled this season, I am happy to see him finally start to play well again. Also, Federer has a 16-2 record over Roddick, so I was just saying that I would have expected for him to have an easier time against someone that he has played so many times and had so much success against.

      Thanks for the good words!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

