Home > Tennis > Rafael Nadal’s Clay Court Stats

Rafael Nadal’s Clay Court Stats

Photo by sgreau.

Photo by sgreau.

Tennis.com has compiled some pretty insane statistics for Rafael Nadal on clay. The numbers clearly show how dominant he is on the dirt. Wow!

165-14 Nadal’s career record on clay (a winning percentage of 92.1)

Nadal’s record on clay since 2005, a 97.2 winning percentage

– The four losses:
to Gaston Gaudio in the quarterfinals of Buenos Aires in 2005 (0-6, 6-0, 6-1)
to Igor Andreev in the quarterfinals of Valencia in 2005 (7-5, 6-2)
to Roger Federer in the final of Hamburg in 2007 (2-6, 6-2, 6-0)
to Juan Carlos Ferrero in the second round of Rome in 2008 (7-5, 6-1)

81 Number of consecutive clay-court matches Nadal won from April 2005 to May 2007, an all-time record

– The next longest winning streak is 53 matches, set by Guillermo Vilas.
– Nadal’s streak was ended by Roger Federer in the 2007 Hamburg final. It’s the only time that Nadal has lost a clay-court final.
– Since then, Nadal has won 44 of his 45 clay-court matches. In total, Nadal has lost two of his last 127 matches on clay.

23 Number of clay-court titles Nadal has won

– Acapulco (2005)
– Barcelona (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008)
– Bastad (2005)
– Costa do Sauipe (2005)
– Roland Garros (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008)—four of his six career Grand Slam titles
– Hamburg (2008)
– Monte Carlo (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009)—a record number of consecutive titles
– Rome (2005, 2006, 2007)
– Sopot (2004)
– Stuttgart (2005, 2007)

Only three players in the Top 25 have beaten Nadal on clay: Roger Federer, David Ferrer and Fernando Gonzalez.

– Federer beat Nadal on clay in Hamburg in 2007; Nadal has won all four of their matches on clay since, including a 6-1, 6-3, 6-0 obliteration in the 2008 Roland Garros final.
– Ferrer beat Nadal on clay in Stuttgart in 2004; Nadal has won all five of their matches on clay since.
– Gonzalez beat Nadal on clay in Stuttgart in 2003; Nadal has won all three of their matches on clay since, without dropping a set.

Only two players in the Top 25 have a winning record against Nadal: David Nalbandian and James Blake; neither has played the Spaniard on clay.

– Nalbandian hasn’t beaten Nadal since 2007; Nadal won their last match (at Indian Wells in 2009).
– Blake hasn’t beaten Nadal since 2006; Nadal won their last two matches (at Indian Wells and Miami in 2008).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: