Home > Tennis > ATP Rome: Nadal, Djokovic Rematch in the Final

ATP Rome: Nadal, Djokovic Rematch in the Final

Photo of Novak Djokovic via Forty Deuce

Photo of Novak Djokovic via Forty Deuce

Novak Djokovic continued his impressive play on clay this season, as he defeated Roger Federer 4-6, 6-3, 6-3 in the semis. Federer looked like he would cruise to victory until a rain delay halted play for one hour and when they returned from the stoppage of play, Djokovic’s play completely turned around and he, consequently, began to dominate the Swiss superstar. Djokovic will play world number 1 Rafael Nadal in the final. They squared off a few weeks ago in Monte Carlo and Nadal was able to get the victory, but Djokovic believes that he will get the best of Rafael Nadal this time.

“He’s going to be the absolute favourite to win it again, but I have my chances, especially after the great performance in Monte-Carlo,” said Djokovic. “I have no reason not to believe that I can win. I won a set against him in Monte-Carlo. I played really good start of the third set, and learned that I have to really play every point against him. So that’s what I’m going to try to do tomorrow. Physically to prepare, to be ready to play long rallies, because that is what is happening when you play against him, and just wait for the chances.”

Nadal hadn’t had any trouble advancing to the semis and he didn’t have any trouble in his semifinal match against Fernando Gonzalez, either. Nadal, who defeated Gonzalez 6-3, 6-3, controlled nearly the entire match and his serve was only broken one time. This victory is Nadal’s 29th straight on clay and it improves his match record this season to an ATP best 37-3. Djokovic has been the only person that has taken a set off of Nadal on clay this season, so Nadal believes that he is in for a fight tomorrow.

“I know tomorrow is going to be a really tough match, and I have to be playing at my 100% to have good chances to win,” said Nadal. “[The] important thing is I don’t have a lot of mistakes. I have to play aggressive with my forehand and try to have control of the point with my forehand. If I don’t do that it’s going to be really difficult, because if he is attacking me is really tough to play against Novak.”

  1. May 4, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Hi, good post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for posting. I’ll certainly be subscribing to your site.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

