Home > Tennis > Nadal: Murray Will be “Very Difficult to Stop”

Nadal: Murray Will be “Very Difficult to Stop”

Photo of Andy Murray by mirsasha.

Photo of Andy Murray by mirsasha.

World number one Rafael Nadal spoke very highly of the Scotsman Andy Murray, while in Spain for the Madrid Open. Murray hasn’t fared as well on the red clay as he has on hard courts, but Nadal believes that if Murray can improve his clay court game, that he would be “very difficult to stop.”

Nadal added that “He’s doing really well and has the potential to be number one, and win important titles, which he’s already done.”

“But I’m not thinking about Andy Murray, I’m thinking about me and playing my best tennis and if he’s better than me at the end of the season then I will congratulate him, and if I’m number three then I will be happy to be there because I will have tried my best.

“Andy is one year younger than me so he has a long time to win a lot of titles and to be number one.”

Murray, who recently took over the number 3 ranking from Novak Djokovic, is the defending champion of the Mutua Madrilena Madrid Open.


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

